Question

What Is Extreme/Super Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Sponsored Answer
 - - Super Lawyers

Answered by:

Located in ,

,
Phone:

View Profile
Answer

Technically, these are still misdemeanors. The penalties, however, include more jail time, higher fees and increased ignition interlock device (IID) requirements. Extreme DUI is when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .15 or above. A Super Extreme DUI charge is possible if you BAC is .20 or above.

The penalties for DUI in Arizona are in part dependent on BAC, so it is crucial to ensure that the reading was accurate. There are three main levels:

.08 - .149, if a first offense, carries a minimum of one day in jail, $250 in fines, license suspension of at least 90 days and IID requirement.

.15 - .199 (Extreme DUI) the penalties jump to a minimum of 30 days in jail, double the fines and longer license suspension and IID requirement. An added penalty is 30-day vehicle impoundment with added fees to get it back.

.20 and over (Super Extreme DUI) carries a minimum 45 days in jail, nearly triple the fines as well as even longer license suspension, IID requirement and impoundment.

Then there are four main categories of felony level DUI charges. These are repeat offenses (a third offense in 84 months), a DUI stop while driving on a suspended license, a child under age 15 in the vehicle and failure to install an IID as required.

How do you fight a DUI charge? It is often hard to tell at the beginning, and the strategy will vary based on the unique set of facts in your case.

Reduced or Dismissed?

A DUI case may progress a little like a “choose your own adventure” story. We will not know what defenses are available until we start investigating. Irregularities with a blood draw might allow us to challenge evidence with a motion to suppress evidence that ultimately leads to the case being dismissed. Arguments might exist to reduce a DUI charge when BAC is .155 near the borderline.

The doors/path that open to reach the best resolution will differ. Options exist, but it requires a knowledgeable eye to identify them.

 

Disclaimer: The answer is intended to be for informational purposes only. It should not be relied on as legal advice, nor construed as a form of attorney-client relationship.

Other Answers About DUI/DWI

Photo of Thomas J. Maronick, Jr.

Will I Lose My Driver’s License After A Maryland DUI?

If you are convicted of a DUI in Maryland, you will almost certainly lose your diver’s license for some period of time. Even first-time …

Sponsored answer by Thomas J. Maronick, Jr.

Photo of Jesse Lohrke

Can I Restore My Firearm Rights In Oregon If I Have A Felony Conviction?

Many individuals who have been convicted of a felony crime in Oregon no longer have the right to possess a firearm. Often, the conviction was …

Sponsored answer by Jesse Lohrke

Photo of Kevin M. Marcilliat

What If I’m Arrested For DUI On Fort Bragg in North Carolina?

You face everything a civilian does when arrested for DUI: driver’s license suspension or revocation, a possible jail sentence, and insurance …

Sponsored answer by Kevin M. Marcilliat

Call Me

To:

Super Lawyers: Potential Client Inquiry

Disclaimer »
Privacy Policy »
*Required fields
Page Generated: 0.69501996040344 sec