Question

What Are The 3 Tiers Of Sex Offenses In Louisiana?

Sponsored Answer
Thomas C. Damico - Criminal Defense - Super Lawyers

Answered by: Thomas C. Damico

Located in Baton Rouge, LADamico & Stockstill, Attorneys at Law

Baton Rouge, LA
Phone: 225-250-1812
Fax: 225-769-0195

View Profile
Answer

There are three tiers of sex offenses in Louisiana, and the penalties for a sex offense conviction depend on the type and level of offense. Keep in mind, though, that a conviction is not a foregone conclusion in these cases. If you have been accused of a sex crime, your case should be scrutinized for any false allegations, as well as for any violations of your rights before, during or after your arrest.

However, if a conviction happens, an experienced criminal defense attorney at Damico & Stockstill can work to minimize any sex offender registration requirements.

A person convicted of a sex offense in Louisiana may be placed in any one of the three tiers, depending on the type and severity of the offense. These are the three tiers of sex offenses in Louisiana:

Tier 1

Tier 1 is the lowest level of sex offense. Generally, people placed in the Tier 1 category are deemed to present a low risk of repeat offense. Some examples of Tier 1 offenses include:

  • Sexual battery of an adult victim
  • Intentionally exposing another person to AIDS
  • Sexual misconduct between an educator and a student

Tier 1 offenders usually must remain on the sex offender registry for 15 years.

Tier 2

Tier 2 offenses are mid-level offenses. People placed in the Tier 2 category are deemed to present a moderate risk of repeat offense. Tier 2 offenses may include:

  • Use of the internet to solicit images of a minor
  • The possession or production of child pornography
  • Human trafficking of a minor

Tier 2 offenders usually remain on the sex offender registry for 25 years.

Tier 3

Tier 3 is the highest level of sex offense in Louisiana. Tier 3 offenses are the most serious sex crimes that may also carry a high risk of repeat offense. Some examples of Tier 3 sex offenses include:

  • Forced or aggravated rape
  • Second-degree sexual battery
  • Kidnapping of a child
  • Incest involving sexual intercourse
  • Other serious sex offenses

Those who have been convicted of Tier 3 sex crimes in Louisiana must remain on the sex offender registry for the rest of their lives.

Basic Registry Requirements

Regardless of whether the offense falls into Tier 1, Tier 2 or Tier 3, the convicted person must register with the State Sex Offender & Child Predator Registry and keep certain personal information public. This information generally includes the convicted person’s name, address, place of work, a mugshot and other detailed information. Registered sex offenders must also frequently report their whereabouts to the police, as well as face restrictions regarding the internet and where they can live, travel and work.

The Stakes Are High; An Effective Defense Strategy Is Crucial.

Any type of sex crime charge should be taken very seriously, even if you are innocent of the charge against you. Contact a criminal defense attorney at Damico & Stockstill the moment you know you are under investigation for or charged with a sex offense.

Disclaimer: The answer is intended to be for informational purposes only. It should not be relied on as legal advice, nor construed as a form of attorney-client relationship.

Other Answers By Thomas C. Damico

Photo of Thomas C. Damico

What Should My First Steps Be If I’m Suspected Of A Violent Crime In Louisiana?

Step 1 (and this is perhaps the most important step): Decline to speak with police or investigators. Exercise your right to remain silent. Far too …

Sponsored answer by Thomas C. Damico

Photo of Thomas C. Damico

How Can A Lawyer Help If I’m Arrested For A Large Amount Of Drugs In Louisiana?

Regardless of the amount of drugs involved, the outcome of your case is not a foregone conclusion. The police investigation needs to be scrutinized …

Sponsored answer by Thomas C. Damico

Other Answers About Criminal Law

Photo of Scott White

I’ve Been Arrested In Kentucky. Why Do I Need A Lawyer?

It can be tempting not to hire a lawyer if you’ve been charged with a crime. It may seem unnecessary at first, or you think you can work out a …

Sponsored answer by Scott White

Photo of Thomas C. Damico

What Should My First Steps Be If I’m Suspected Of A Violent Crime In Louisiana?

Step 1 (and this is perhaps the most important step): Decline to speak with police or investigators. Exercise your right to remain silent. Far too …

Sponsored answer by Thomas C. Damico

Photo of Florian Miedel

What Should You Do If You Get A Grand Jury Subpoena in New York?

A grand jury subpoena is used by prosecuting offices to obtain testimony or documents during the investigation of potential criminal conduct. …

Sponsored answer by Florian Miedel

Call Me
225-250-1812

To: Thomas C. Damico

Super Lawyers: Potential Client Inquiry

Disclaimer »
Privacy Policy »
*Required fields
Page Generated: 0.6583251953125 sec