Question

How bad do my injuries have to be to sue after a car accident in New York?

Sponsored Answer
Marty Rutberg - Personal Injury - General - Super Lawyers

Answered by: Marty Rutberg

Located in Poughkeepsie, NYRutberg Breslow

Phone: 845-846-8120
Fax: 845-486-0270

View Profile
Answer

When it comes to auto accidents, the threshold for bringing a case is very specific. You may only bring a case if you have a serious injury as defined by the law. At minimum, you will have to prove that you’re unable to perform usual activities for at least 90 days of the first 180 days after the accident. You don’t have to be unable to do anything ever, just for a cumulative three of the first six months. 

What Else Should Injured People Know?

The basic standard of injury is explained above. However, there are a few things to remember:

  • You can’t sue for pain and suffering unless your injury meets that definition of serious injury. New York is a no-fault state. That means that generally, if you are in an accident, your own insurance will pay for your expenses. Only if you have a serious injury can you bring a claim against the other driver.
  • If you don’t need medical treatment in the first six months, you don’t have a serious enough injury. “Serious injury” generally means broken bones, disfigurement, miscarriage, or permanent loss or the loss of use of a body part or organ.
  • You can only receive as much compensation as the other person’s insurance will cover. The money will only come from their insurance coverage, not from their own personal assets, so if they are underinsured or have no insurance, it’s possible that it’s not worth bringing a claim. 

What To Do If You Have An Injury

Whether or not you know your injury is serious, it is worth it to speak with an attorney to get a professional’s opinion. They can let you know whether your case is serious enough to bring a claim, and what you can expect.

Disclaimer: The answer is intended to be for informational purposes only. It should not be relied on as legal advice, nor construed as a form of attorney-client relationship.

Other Answers By Marty Rutberg

Photo of Marty Rutberg

What is the difference between institutional sexual abuse vs. private sexual abuse in New York?

Few offenses are as disturbing and injurious as childhood sexual abuse.  In the state of New York, childhood …

Sponsored answer by Marty Rutberg

Photo of Marty Rutberg

Does a property owner need to know about a dangerous condition to be responsible for an injury in New York?

Negligence can come in many forms. You may think of negligence as incompetence or an unwillingness to perform …

Sponsored answer by Marty Rutberg

Other Answers About Motor Vehicle Accidents

Photo of George S. Breitmayer, III

Do I Need A Lawyer After A Car Accident In Ohio?

Insurance companies prey on people involved in motor vehicle accidents, knowing most of them are unfamiliar with …

Sponsored answer by George S. Breitmayer, III

Photo of Stephan Peskin

Who pays my medical bills if I am injured in an accident in New York?

Many people often wonder who is responsible for medical bills if you are injured an accident in New York. …

Sponsored answer by Stephan Peskin

Photo of Howard Raphaelson

How much is my car accident case worth in New York?

It’s a good question and one many lawyers get. It might seem like lawyers who can estimate or guarantee a …

Sponsored answer by Howard Raphaelson

Call Me
845-846-8120

To: Marty Rutberg

Super Lawyers: Potential Client Inquiry

Disclaimer »
Privacy Policy »
*Required fields
Page Generated: 0.83700585365295 sec